How to get average session duration and use it for getting the number of VUs

Hi, newbie here!

I am not sure how to begin setting up my test (ex. Getting the number of VUs and its computation, how to indicate it in the load ramping executor, etc.)

SET UP:

The client has 50k users wherein 15k of it are Admins while the rest are Staffs. I will only be needing the 15k Admins for my test. But as per requirement, I will only be using 20% of that 15k. So I will be needing to perform a load test for a specific web transactions/scenarios for the 3k Admins only.

Example website transaction/scenario to load test is Workspace Selection (selecting a workspace). But note that on my js script, I included the endpoint requests for the Log in and Log out Scenario. So basically, to simulate a somewhat real user behavior, the scenarios in my single js script will include Log in → Go to Workspace Tab → Workspace Selection → Log Out. I also placed each covered API requests of these scenarios in a GROUP (total of 4 groups inside my script). As per requirement, I need to load test only the Workspace Selection scenario. The load test execution duration is 5 minutes.

• I am using this formula: Number of VUS= (#OfSessionsInAMinute * AverageSessionDuration) / 60s

#OfSessionsInAMinute = number of sessions in a minute
    AverageSessionDuration = how long each session in its duration in seconds

CONCERNS:

QUESTION # 1: How to get the AverageSessionDuration of Workspace Selection scenario?

• What I did is that I ran the script using per vu iteration executor with 1VU and 3k iterations (since I am testing 3k Admins performing the scenario). So that will allow me to get the average response time or average duration of that specific scenario. I believe there are two methods to know the average response time:

a) I placed a tags for each API requests that is covered in that specific scenario I am testing and