Scenario includes high rate of UDP calls, is k6 worth considering?

I’m planning a load test on a system which has the VUs exchange UDP packets based on a scenario (with http calls as well). I started looking into k6 and found it very appealing, and I though I could use the xk6 extensions to add some UDP capabilities here.

Then I read the page about large tests, and I’m wondering if k6 is worth considering anymore as it does not support clustering. Each of my VUs must be able to send or receive hundreds of small UDP packets per second, and I must be able to simulate millions of VUs. I am not an expert of UDP usage of sockets, but since all of this must happen on the same machine (unless I want to use k6 cloud), I suppose it will be impossible for any machine to support all of this. Am I right?

What do you generally do to simulate more VUs then the large machines can produce? Do you just write a script to start the same k6 script from multiple machines at the same time (without orchestrating anything)?

I am concerned about this and I hope I can get your honest opinion.
Thanks

Hi there, welcome to the forum!

I’m planning a load test on a system which has the VUs exchange UDP packets based on a scenario (with http calls as well).

That’s an interesting use case. However if you just need some central coordination between VUs, even across distributed k6 runs, Redis might be worth looking into. There are a couple of Redis extensions already, and technically this was possible even before xk6 by using Webdis.

So if that would work for your use case then you can avoid having to write support for UDP, though I agree that using xk6 would be the way to go in that case, since we do want to eventually support raw TCP/UDP packets.